Home

Mark Aldrich:

A terrific video and profile from WGN in Chicago of Kyle Bryant, a hero in the Friedreich’s ataxia community for the work he has done and is doing to raise awareness and funds for research.

Originally posted on WGN-TV:

[ooyala code="pncDEzbzrvFB4t2rUGrkJ-CNUiAiBwUA" player_id="4441ed2a84e74b66b60ce980f20deb84"]

It’s a debilitating disease that robs patients of strength and mobility then shortens their lives.  But this weekend in the Chicago area, they ride up to 52 miles to show there’s no stopping them until they have an effective treatment, maybe even a cure.

“I’ve been in a wheelchair for about 3 years now. All these sports were leaving my life. I loved playing golf and baseball, and I loved downhill skiing and basketball.”

The rare neuromuscular disorder known as Friedreich’s Ataxia was progressively weakening Kyle Bryant’s body, but it couldn’t stop him from cycling.

“I actually saw a guy online on a trike, and I was like, ‘Oh my gosh! I think I could do that!’ My first ride was seven miles, and I was so proud of myself. Over the next four months I built up to 100 miles in a day. I was like…

View original 380 more words

Please comment here. Thank you, Mark.

